#1 John

John

Debut

• Official
  • Pip
  • 188 posts

Posted 22 November 2006 - 07:27 PM

One Foot in the Past, One Foot in the Present:

I hope this doesn't read like an infomercial, but my left foot has The Doors logo on it, and my right the
new Tribaljazz swirling dancer.  It's quite a stretch. but I've been doing yoga for 40 years, so I'm
comfortable with the position.

We jumpstarted The Doors 40th (anniversary) a few weeks ago and it was quite fun, despite the Berlin
wall (Sunset Boulevard) between me and my former band mates who tried to run off with our name.  I won
the lawsuit preserving the legacy (Jim, Ray, Robby and John not Ian, Ray, Robby, Stewart {Copeland who was fired}, Angelo and Ty), but it wasn't accepted and an appeal is in progress. hence the division.  I
wouldn't, couldn't, go across the street and pretend that Ray and Robby weren't costing us all hundreds of
thousands more and another year of legalese.

I participated in this celebration because I want to honor whatever spirit that came into a garage in
Venice where The Doors were rehearsing, a spirit bigger than the four of us.  We don't own it, but it
came through us.  The Whiskey A-Go-Go was covered with giant photos of the fab four, not the confused six,
but I didn't venture across Pink Floyd territory.  I was cloistered in Book Soup for an intimate poetry
séance evoking Jim's spirit.  Along with Chester Bennington (Linkin' Park), Perry Farrell (Jane's
Addiction, Lalapalooza Visionary, and now Satellite's Party) and Michael C. Ford (who read poetry with
Morrison in the same space in '69), we lit candles and incense and read Jim's words.  It was pin-drop time.
I was very happy to be there.

I heard the festivities across the wall in the west were very successful as well, but on a higher decibel
level.  All in all, I was, am, very proud of my past. After all, as I said in my autobiography, Riders on
the Storm, "of The Doors" is permanently etched on my forehead.